Gallery write

 

The gallery that attended was held on April 14th to the 29th in the Llewellyn Gallery. The gallery displayed work done by Vavrek. In this gallery it displayed a video of glitch art. From what I saw the glitch made it seem like broken up memories. From this I got the sense that the person couldn’t recall the full descriptions of the events that they were trying to recall.

The work in the exhibition had some key things that held it together that helped me to recall what was going on. One thing that it had was consistency in transition. This helped me to not get lost and helped me follow what was going on. It also had consistent line weight and color. This helped the people in the video stand out and helped me read what was going on.

Something that grabbed me was the again the use of the glitch in the video. This grabbed glitch filmme because it felt as if I was watching different parts from someone’s memory. It seemed like the memories were fuzzy and not fully there. From this I got the sense of a story that had several parts to it and it was up to the viewer to interpret it.

 

I can use what took from this this galley in my own work as a DMA student in a few ways. I could use what took by thinking carefully about any way I might decide to tell a story. One way I could use what I learned from this is incorporating it into a project where I’m telling a story through animation. For example I could make an animation about someone who can’t fully remember what happened. I would go about this by modeling a character with fully recognizable features and model a character where one part of them is not detailed to represent the idea of the main character not remembering that specific detail.

This entry was posted in Lectures and Workshops and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

